What’s Your Reset Button?

Every once and a while, my iPhone will start to act sluggish, crash randomly, or behave in an erratic manner for no apparent reason. The fail-safe fix to this problem is the “hard reset” advised by those smarty-pants Apple employees at the “genius bar”. I hold down the top and bottom buttons at the same time for a few seconds, and restart my phone to return it to it’s natural state of awesome.

Every once and a while, I start to act sluggish, crash randomly, or behave in an erratic manner for no apparent reason. My fail-safe fix to this problem, my “hard reset”, is the simultaneous feeling of sand between my toes, ocean spray upon my face, and UV rays soaking into my skin. The beach is my reset button. It never fails to bring me back to MY natural state (of awesome).

 

I had the opportunity to spend this past weekend with family and old friends in my favorite place on this earth- Surf City, LBI. I returned to reality yesterday with sunburned knees and shoulders, car seats covered in sand, a hemp & seashell ankle bracelet, and an overwhelming sense of satisfaction and completion. Sunday and Monday were beautiful beach days. I spent time with my amazing, one-year old nephew, my brothers and sisters-in-law, my parents and many extended family members and friends. My best friend and I also drove to Pittsburgh and back in a 24 hour time period (through the middle of the night both ways) to attend a high school friend’s wedding, but that is a story for another day. (Or a story that best remains untold on the internet due to the overall insanity of the entire trip).

I witnessed a beautiful sunset over the bay:

 

I made a super-fun wedding related purchase that I will reveal later this week, and I attempted to teach my nephew to fist pump, Jersey style. Let me just say that babies at the beach are a totally amazing thing.

We built sand castles:

 

and played in the waves. (My nephew was born into a family of part human-part fishes, and therefore proceeds to make a direct beeline for the ocean whenever he comes to the beach).

 

I had an absolutely amazing time soaking up the rays, and brought home a little taste of the Jersey shore (fresh fluke from the fish market) to make for dinner Monday night. It is back to my regular work schedule now, but everything just seems better today- despite the fact that I cannot wear a regular bra because it cuts too deeply into my sunburn… (TMI? Sorry.)

We all have our own reset button- our own place, activity, person or thing that helps bring us back to home base when things get out of control. Don’t forget to figure out what yours is, and treat yourself to a good, long, hard reset.

 

 

4 thoughts on “What’s Your Reset Button?

  1. The beach does it for me too (I am a Long Island Gal so I grew up with it right at hand!). Good for you for taking time to reset we all need to do it more often. Love the pics of your nephew, he is a cutie pie for sure!

Hey! If you're reading- leave a comment! I'd love to meet you!